The Trans-Jordan Landfill Board agreed late last month to alter what is recyclable with five of the seven communities that use the landfill: Draper, Midvale, Murray, Riverton and South Jordan. Residents in those cities are being told to only recycle corrugated cardboard, plastic bottles/jugs with necks and metal food/beverage cans.

Those changes are slowly going into effect because the different cities were tasked with informing their residents about the change. West Jordan officials clarified Friday that it has not yet asked residents to only focus on those items and Sandy, the other city that uses the landfill, also hasn’t opted into the changes. Both currently continue to encourage residents to recycle paper and cardboard, whereas Midvale officials told residents on Monday to start recycling only “the big three” items.

It’s worth noting there will still be places — generally public locations — where residents can go to recycle glass, white paper and newspapers within those communities, Midvale city planner Kane Loader, who is also the chair of the Trans-Jordan Landfill Board, told KSL Newsradio on Thursday. Those locations can be found by contacting the different cities.

On Friday, officials from Salt Lake City and the Wasatch Front Waste and Recycling District, which covers Cottonwood Heights, Herriman, Holladay, Kearns, Magna, Millcreek, parts of Murray, Taylorsville and many unincorporated communities in the county, cleared the air about what’s recyclable elsewhere in the county.

Residents can recycle all clean paper products, aside from shredded paper, as well as plastic containers, metal cans and cardboard. “What we’ve been asking residents to do is not put thin-film plastics like shrinkwrap or plastic bags (in recycling)” Pam Roberts, executive director for Wasatch Front Waste and Recycling District, told “Then also, to make sure recycling is free from any food, liquid, things of that nature.”

To read the full story, visit