Falmouth High School’s Gary Glick, South Portland High School’s Tania Ferrante, and City of Sanford staff highlight the 2019 ecomaine eco-Excellence Awards, announced this week.  Citing the achievements of 16 individuals, organizations, and businesses – and one municipality – ecomaine’s Board recognized outstanding efforts in sustainability, waste management, and “green living” through the 2019 eco-Excellence Awards, to be handed out at a ceremony at ecomaine on March 26, 2019.

“Increasing public awareness of sustainability is central to ecomaine’s mission,” said CEO Kevin Roche.  “In this amazing group of eco-Excellence Award winners, ecomaine is pleased to recognize efforts to bring this mission directly into our communities.  We look forward to celebrating with the 2019 awardees on March 26.”

Added ecomaine Outreach & Recycling Committee Chair, Caleb Hemphill, “The outstanding work that these nominees have put in – during 2018, but in many cases for many years – produce tangible results for ecomaine’s member municipalities, leading to greater sustainability, increased public involvement, and the spread of best practices for anyone in Maine to follow.”

The following awardees will be recognized at a special luncheon at ecomaine on Tuesday, March 26, 2019.

Individual Lifetime Achievement eco-Excellence Award: Gary Glick, Falmouth High School

Overall Individual eco-Excellence Award: Tania Ferrante, South Portland High School

Individual Award Winners:

Jennifer Polley, Chelsea

Patty Distasio, Gray

Gene Pierotti, Portland (Riverside Golf Course)

Meredith Banker, Scarborough

Michael Caudle, South Portland

Paul Mathieu, Hiram (Sacopee Valley High School)

Dennis Brown, Windham

Tom Pitman & students, Yarmouth (Yarmouth High School)


Non-Profit Award Winners:

Friends of Scarborough Marsh, Scarborough

Friends School of Portland, Cumberland


Business Award Winners:

Chase Street Soap Company, Scarborough

OutsideIn Maine, Cape Elizabeth

Mainely Worm Bins, Gorham


Municipal Award Winner:

City of Sanford & Sanford Public Works (Matt Hill & Kayla LeBrun), Sanford

For more information, visit www.ecomaine.org.