Maryland Environmental Service announced recipients of the 2019 Environmental Business Leadership Awards. The seven winners were selected following a competitive nomination and evaluation process. Awards will be presented at the sold-out Environmental Business Leadership Conference dinner on July 10 at the Four Seasons Hotel Baltimore. The 2019 award recipients include:
  • Environmental Business Leader: LifeBridge Health
  • Environmental Excellence – Sustainability: University of Maryland, Office of Sustainability
  • Environmental Excellence – Restoration: Anne Arundel County Public Schools
  • Environmental Excellence – Solid Waste Management: Baltimore Gas and Electric
  • Meritorious Service Award (Lifetime Achievement): George G. Perdikakis, Sr.
  • Meritorious Service Award (Lifetime Achievement): Maryland Public Television
  • Rising Star: The Compost Crew

“The Environmental Business Leadership Award recipients are exemplary individuals and organizations that have consistently demonstrated strong leadership and commitment to strengthening and preserving Maryland’s incredible environment,” said Roy McGrath, CEO and Chairman of Maryland Environmental Service. “These awardees exemplify how being good stewards of the environment is good for business,” he added.

Brown Advisory is the official sponsor of the awards. President and CEO Michael Hankin will emcee the program and present the awards. The sold-out Environmental Business Leadership Conference features nearly 50 industry experts and speakers including Maryland Governor Larry Hogan, U. S. Naval Academy Superintendent, Vice Admiral Walter E. “Ted” Carter, Jr., PBS NewsHour Anchor Judy Woodruff, acclaimed author Andrew Savitz, and nine members of the Hogan Administration Cabinet.

The event brings together key business and environmental leaders from the Mid-Atlantic region and across the country to collaborate and learn about the latest environmental business and product innovations, technologies, and opportunities.

For more information, visit