The National Waste and Recycling Association (NWRA) Women’s Council is pleased to announce the 2019 Board, elected on October 22, 2018.  Carmen Smothers from ESG/3rd Eye has been re-elected to serve as the 2019 Board President. Carmen has been a member of the Women’s Council since 2005 and has served on various Council committees.

Faith Zydowsky (Sierra Container Group) will serve as Vice President, Dianne Cervantes (Waste Corp of America – WCA) as Treasurer, and Cheryl Waite (Perkins Manufacturing) as Secretary. Colleen Reilly (Rehrig Pacific) will serve as Fundraising Chair, Tamara Humpherys (PRECO Electronics) as Membership/Marketing Chair, Katie Raverty Evans (Best Way Disposal) as Professional Development Chair, and Tammy Holtzman(Waste Connections) as Scholarship Chair. Ms. Holtzman also serves as the Immediate Past President. Peggy Macenas (NWRA) will continue to serve as the Council Director.

“It’s a privilege to serve as President of the Women’s Council,” said Ms. Smothers. “I’m honored to work with this experienced Board.  The Women’s Council has much in store for 2019, including the awarding of $35K in academic scholarships, 2019 Carts On Display at WasteExpo and educational opportunities for the industry.”

For more information, visit