NWRA announced its 2022 Membership Award recipients across three categories for their contributions in support of the waste and recycling industry and the Association. The 2022 honorees are: Services Member of the Year Award: Shelley Seyward, Casella Waste Systems; Suppliers Member of the Year Award: Martin Mattsson, Volvo Construction Equipment North America, Inc.; Chapter Leadership Award: Brad Eisenhart, WM; Services Distinguished Service Award: Pete Keller, Republic Services, Inc.; and Suppliers Distinguished Service Award: Mike McLaughlin, McLaughlin Family Companies / New Way Trucks.

“Our member companies and their employees are the strength of NWRA. Without these individuals’ leadership and contributions, NWRA would not be the leading association in the waste industry. I congratulate them on their achievements,” said NWRA President and CEO Darrell Smith. The honorees will be recognized at NWRA’s Executive Leadership Roundtable event in October.

Members of the Year are selected based upon extraordinary service to the mission and goals of NWRA and the industry over the past year. Chapter Leadership awards are presented to members whose contributions to an NWRA chapter were particularly meritorious. Distinguished Service awards are presented to longstanding members of NWRA who render service in pursuit of the Association’s mission and goals. These awards recognize the highest spirit of volunteerism, personal integrity, professionalism and performance in an honorable and ethical manner.

Services Member of the Year

Shelley Seyward, Casella Waste Systems

 Shelley has been involved in the fight on all of the association’s major issues in New York, Vermont, New Hampshire, Maine, Massachusetts and Connecticut. She was at the forefront of the successful fight to keep Vermont’s new bottle bill from passing and against HB 1454 in New Hampshire requiring a buffer between landfills and bodies of water which has been vetoed by the governor. Shelley was also a constant in the battle that is taking place in Maine and helped lead the fight in New York, Connecticut, and Massachusetts on EPR. Shelley is now in her first term as the Vice Chair of NWRA’s Government Affairs Committee.

 Suppliers Member of the Year

Martin Mattsson, Volvo Construction Equipment North America

Martin was selected for his significant contributions to the industry through his service leading committees and volunteering on the Supplier Board of Governors as well as supporting NWRA’s Future Industry Leaders Alliance.

 Chapter Leadership

Brad Eisenhart, WM

 Indiana Chapter Chair Brad Eisenhart first took over an unexpired term of a Chair who moved to a different state and since has been a steady hand on the wheel of the chapter. He has helped them to navigate successfully many legislative and regulatory challenges that the industry has faced over the past year.

 Services Distinguished Service

Pete Keller, Republic Services, Inc.

Pete Keller chaired the Recycling Committee from its formation in 2013 until the end of 2021 when he had to step aside due to term limits. During his time as chairman, Pete led the committee through multiple crises starting from China’s Green Fence, National Sword and Blue Sky initiatives to the COVID pandemic challenges.

Suppliers Distinguished Service

Mike McLaughlin, McLaughlin Family Companies / New Way Trucks

Mike McLaughlin has consistently supported the industry by volunteering on boards and committees such as the Supplier Board of Governors. He and McLaughlin Family Companies / New Way Trucks continue to provide important financial support to NWRA and the industry.

For more information, visit www.wasterecycling.org.